Political Structure of CEMR

The Council of European Municipalities and Regions (CEMR) is a representative and democratic political organisation. It has two governing bodies: the Policy Committee and the Executive Bureau.

The Policy Committee approves the budget and the annual work programme, decides on the main policy lines and on the admission of new members. It is composed of around 170 members elected for three years. Each national delegation is assigned a given number of seats based on the country’s population.


The Executive Bureau includes CEMR’s president, two co-presidents, the executive presidents, a maximum of 10 vice presidents and the secretary general. The Bureau follows up on Policy Committee decisions and, between Committee meetings, is responsible for CEMR’s work and policy.


The political leadership: the president, co-presidents, executive presidents and vice-presidents are elected by the Policy Committee for three years. The President shall chair the meetings of the official organs. He/she is responsible for representing CEMR. The co-presidents, executive presidents and vice-presidents may be called upon by the president to carry out functions on his/her behalf.


The secretary general is responsible for the effective management of the Secretariat General, which is made up of around 20 staff members. He advises the governing bodies and implements their decisions. The secretary general is elected by the Policy Committee for a six-year term.